General forum:

Back    All discussions

2009-11-13
Suggestion about the pro/non-pro system
What if for us non-pros you set a certain quota of accepted messages past which we no longer have to have our posts reviewed before they appear on the board?

This could save you some work, but it would continue to filter out the crazies. And us serious non-pros would be able to participate in conversations without having to wait a day or two (or three or sometimes more) between contributions.

2009-11-16
Reply to Kris Rhodes
I'm new to this, but as a non-pro, i sort of like the slow format as it reminds me of the 17 and 18th Century letter writing correspondences where you had to really put some thought into what you say with days, weeks or years between gratifications. They really had to hang on every word. Twitter/instant email culture is too shallow for philosophy.

Regards,
Gary

2009-11-16
Reply to Kris Rhodes
It would be good if some "pros" weighed in on this issue.  As a non-pro, I've also felt frustration at having to sometimes wait a week or more for my posts to appear.  I've started putting the date of submission under my name to indicate the lag and hopefully avoid confusion.

I agree that the approval process does force one to measure one's writing more carefully, and this is a good thing.  However, I think discussions would progress more fluidly and coherently if contributions were posted in real time.