Back    All discussions

2010-01-15
Virtue Epistemology as circular
Hi,

I'm currently studying Virtue Epistemology, amongst other things, and it is painfully apparent that the theory rests on a circularity. Knowledge is the result of the exercise of an epistemic virtue (plus other conditions depending on who you read) and so epistemic virtues get you knowledge.

But then how do we know what an epistemic virtue is? We cannot simply reply that it is that which gets us knowledge when used appropriately because this presupposes and understanding of knowledge - exactly the thing VE is supposed to inform us about.

Given VE is often largely internalist it seems that simply labelling it a form of naturalised epistemology is no good.

However I've struggled finding literature which shares my concerns.

My question is whether I am missing something so obviou no one would bother to write on it!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Alex

2010-01-15
Reply to Alex Carley

I think a very good source on this, and just about everything else, is the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. I wish I knew more about virtue epistemology, I’m barely up to speed. Anyhow I believe on one account, virtue is an ability, acquired or innate, or a stable character trait, that tends to produce true belief. I think having  clear visual acuity or a good memory is an example of the first. Being open-minded, paying attention to relevant evidence, are instances of the second. All of these are cognitive excellences at least in part because they tend to produce true beliefs.