Back   

2009-04-01
Vehicle/Content Distinction and Computation
Recently I have been working on a paper regarding the concept of representation and its explanatory use in the cognitive sciences (esp. neuroscience).  I am interested in representation at a more general level as well.  I was just wondering if philosophers could point me in the relevant direction regarding the following two questions:
1.)  Who introduced the distinction between representational vehicles and representational content?
2.)  Are there any papers that analyze this distinction and relate it to computation in the cognitive sciences (esp. neuroscience)?
Also, if anyone has any other papers that they would recommend I read, it would be very much appreciated as I am fairly new to these broad topics.

2009-04-04
Reply to Wes Anderson
Wes, welcome -- I loved Royal Tenebaums (and of course Rushmore was tremendously atmospheric).
1) The distinction here is of course the use-mention distinction -- Quine is helpful on that. 

2) Probably worthwhile checking out the Burge-Egan debate on whether Marr's theory is intentional.

2009-04-04
Reply to Benj Hellie
Dr. Hellie,
I appreciate the reply.
1) I was wondering who introduced the distinction in the context of philosophy of mind/cognitive science.  Also, I wonder if the distinction readily applies to mental representations as it does with spoken language or if the distinction is some sort of carry-over from LoT hypotheses.  In other words, I am wondering if this distinction is epistemically/methodologically motivated or whether it is some sort of heuristic in the context of philosophy of mind/cognitive science.
2) Will do.
Thanks again.

2009-04-05
Reply to Wes Anderson