Back   

2011-04-11
Quality of reviews in Physics
Dear all,

Lately I was wondering if there is any check on quality of review in e.g. Foundation of Physics.

A paper can be rejected on  

1. Stated dislike of the philosophy by the reviewer.
2. Claim that a proof is 'not convincing' while giving no further spoecification at all.

Does this kind of reviewing practices sound familiar to any of you?

Yours
Han Geurdes

2011-05-03
Reply to Han Geurdes
As an outsider, I have no direct experience on the matter, but am aware of many similar reports by well-qualified scientists, e.g. "our procedures defend entrenched assumption and delay challenge and progress" (Warren B. Hamilton, Distinguished Senior Scientist, Department of Geophysics, Colorado School of Mines) and "Something is wrong with the scientific enterprise as a whole if it routinely punishes innovation in this way" (Richard Greenberg, Professor of Planetary Sciences, Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, University of Arizona).

But I am aware of no better source of insight into the means by which entrenched errors can long retard progress than Dewey B. Larson's neglected classic The Case Against the Nuclear Atom (1963).  As far as I can judge, its arguments are just as valid and compelling today as when they were first written. I cannot recommend this book too highly, including its Chapter 11, which suggests some potential reforms in the general organization of science.  As things stand now, however, it is doubtful that any challenge to the nuclear atom hypothesis could be published in a physics journal, no matter how compelling the arguments, nor will potentially falsifying experiments be funded except with extreme difficulty.