Marx’s Social Ontology: Individuality and Community in Marx’s Theory of Social Reality [Book Review]

Review of Metaphysics 32 (4):755-756 (1979)

Abstract
Marx is generally taken to be important in the history of thought as a social philosopher, that is, a philosopher whose main categories are human individuals, their interactions, and the development and modification of institutions, values, and the like. Not so, according to Carol C. Gould, who contends, rather, that Marx is important in the history of thought as a metaphysician, that is, a philosopher whose main categories are particulars, classes, the relation of individuals to class concepts, change, causation, and the like, and, having developed principles in that universal ontic domain, Marx proceeded to apply them to a special subdomain of reality, namely, society. In other words, Marx was important as an ontologist in general, and specifically as a social ontologist. Thus, the author states: "I present Marx for the first time as a great systematic philosopher in the tradition of Aristotle, Kant, and Hegel. Yet I show that Marx’s philosophical system is distinctive in that he develops it as a framework for his concrete social theory and his critique of political economy".
Keywords Catholic Tradition  Contemporary Philosophy  General Interest
Categories No categories specified
(categorize this paper)
ISBN(s) 0034-6632
DOI revmetaph197932474
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

Our Archive


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 43,865
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

Marx’s Ontology of the Praxis-Relations of Social Production.Wujin Yu - 2009 - Frontiers of Philosophy in China 4 (3):400-416.
Marx's Ontology of the Praxis-Relations of Social Production.Yu Wujin & Kong Hui - 2009 - Frontiers of Philosophy in China 4 (3):400 - 416.
Karl Marx.Allen Wood - 1999 - Routledge.
Marx: A Philosophy of Human Reality.Kathleen McLaughlin (ed.) - 1983 - Indiana University Press.
The Individual and Society in Reinhold Niebuhr and Karl Marx.Ruth Lynette Smith - 1982 - Dissertation, Boston University Graduate School

Analytics

Added to PP index
2017-02-17

Total views
4 ( #1,096,775 of 2,266,142 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
4 ( #355,373 of 2,266,142 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes

Sign in to use this feature