Abstract
Michael Winkelman, who is a senior lecturer in the department of anthropology, Arizona State University, and director of its ethnographic field school, has provided a rich overview of the neurophenomenology of shamanism in his book, Shamanism: The Neural Ecology of Consciousness. Written in the tradition of Laughlin, McManus, and d'Aquili's 1992 classic, Brain, Symbol, and Experience: Toward a Neurophenomenology of Consciousness, Winkelman considers shamanism in many of its facets. He explores shamanism's social and symbolic content, and the implications of its neurological underpinnings both for shamanic practitioners and for their clients
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 63,323
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

Dream Sleep and Waking Reality: A Dynamical View.Allan Combs & Stanley Krippner - 1998 - In Stuart R. Hameroff, Alfred W. Kaszniak & A. C. Scott (eds.), Toward a Science of Consciousness II. MIT Press.
Self-Organization in the Dreaming Brain.Stanley Krippner & Allan Combs - 2000 - Journal of Mind and Behavior 21 (4):399-412.
Dreaming and the Self-Organizing Brain.Allan Combs, David Kahn & Stanley Krippner - 2000 - Journal of Consciousness Studies 7 (7):4-11.
Book Review. [REVIEW]Charles R. Card, Allan Combs & John J. Hisnanick - 1999 - World Futures 53 (4):347-375.
Book Review. [REVIEW]Sally Goerner, Allan Combs & John J. Hisnanick - 1994 - World Futures 39 (4):249-254.
All-Levels, All-Quadrants a Review of Ken Wilbers a Theory of Everything.Allan Combs - 2001 - Journal of Consciousness Studies 8 (11):74-82.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2014-02-13

Total views
45 ( #237,313 of 2,448,707 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
1 ( #445,641 of 2,448,707 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes