Authors
Wolfgang Pietsch
Technische Universität München
Abstract
Comparing action-at-a-distance electrodynamics in the tradition of Coulomb and Ampère with electromagnetic field theory of Faraday and Maxwell provides an example for a relation between theories, that are on a par in many respects. They have a broadly overlapping domain of applicability, and both were widely successful in explanation and prediction. The relation can be understood as an inhomogeneous reduction without a clear distinction between reducing and reduced theory. It is argued in general, when a clear hierarchy between competing theories cannot be determined, the plurality of standpoints should be preserved and the bridge laws carefully developed.
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 65,587
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

On Conceptual Issues in Classical Electrodynamics: Prospects and Problems of an Action-at-a-Distance Interpretation.Wolfgang Pietsch - 2010 - Studies in History and Philosophy of Science Part B: Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics 41 (1):67-77.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

On Conceptual Issues in Classical Electrodynamics: Prospects and Problems of an Action-at-a-Distance Interpretation.Wolfgang Pietsch - 2010 - Studies in History and Philosophy of Science Part B: Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics 41 (1):67-77.
Inconsistency in Classical Electrodynamics?F. A. Muller - 2007 - Philosophy of Science 74 (2):253-277.
Identity-Based Reduction and Reductive Explanation.Raphael van Riel - 2010 - Philosophia Naturalis 47 (1-2):183-219.
Does Functional Reduction Need Bridge Laws? A Response to Marras.Kevin Morris - 2009 - British Journal for the Philosophy of Science 60 (3):647-657.
Philosophical Issues in Electromagnetism.Mathias Frisch - 2009 - Philosophy Compass 4 (1):255-270.
Approaches to Reduction.Kenneth F. Schaffner - 1967 - Philosophy of Science 34 (2):137-147.
A Case for an Empirically Demonstrable Notion of the Vacuum in Quantum Electrodynamics Independent of Dynamical Fluctuations.Mario Bacelar Valente - 2011 - Journal for General Philosophy of Science / Zeitschrift für Allgemeine Wissenschaftstheorie 42 (2):241-261.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2009-01-28

Total views
39 ( #280,944 of 2,461,958 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
1 ( #448,803 of 2,461,958 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes