In Jeff McMahan, Timothy Campbell, Ketan Ramakrishnan & Jimmy Goodrich (eds.), Ethics and Existence: The Legacy of Derek Parfit. Oxford: Oxford University Press (forthcoming)

Authors
Theron Pummer
University of St. Andrews
Abstract
Ethics in the tradition of Derek Parfit’s Reasons and Persons is riddled with sorites-like arguments, which lead us by what seem innocent steps to seemingly false conclusions. Take, for example, spectrum arguments for the Repugnant Conclusion that appeal to slight differences in quality of life. Several authors have taken the view that, since spectrum arguments are structurally analogous to sorites arguments, the correct response to spectrum arguments is structurally analogous to the correct response to sorites arguments. I argue against this sorites analogy. I first consider some potential structural disanalogies between spectrum arguments and sorites arguments. But even if these arguments are relevantly structurally analogous, they differ in their content in ways that show the sorites analogy to be implausible. I explore two content-based disanalogies—one is inspired by Parfit’s work on reductionism, and the other involves what I call hypersensitivity. I conclude with a methodological lesson.
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
Buy the book Find it on Amazon.com
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy

 PhilArchive page | Other versions
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

A Theory of Metaphysical Indeterminacy.Elizabeth Barnes & J. Robert G. Williams - 2011 - In Karen Bennett & Dean W. Zimmerman (eds.), Oxford Studies in Metaphysics volume 6. Oxford University Press. pp. 103-148.
Overpopulation and the Quality of Life.Derek Parfit - 1986 - In Peter Singer (ed.), Applied Ethics. Oxford: Oxford University Press. pp. 145-164.

View all 39 references / Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

Strict Finitism and the Happy Sorites.Ofra Magidor - 2012 - Journal of Philosophical Logic 41 (2):471-491.
Parfit and the Sorites Paradox.J. M. Goodenough - 1996 - Philosophical Studies 83 (2):113-20.
Diagnosing Sorites Arguments.Robert Stalnaker - 2018 - Theoria: Revista de Teoría, Historia y Fundamentos de la Ciencia 33 (3):509-520.
The Sorites Paradox in Practical Philosophy.Hrafn Asgeirsson - 2019 - In Sergi Oms & Elia Zardini (eds.), The Sorites Paradox. Cambridge, UK: pp. 229–245.
Chain-Arguments and the Sorites Paradox.Ran Lanzet - 2019 - Australasian Journal of Philosophy 97 (3):589-604.
Spectrum Arguments and Hypersensitivity.Theron Pummer - 2018 - Philosophical Studies 175 (7):1729-1744.
A Note on the Sorites Paradox.Graham Priest - 1979 - Australasian Journal of Philosophy 57 (1):74 – 75.
Qualia and Vagueness.Anthony Everett - 1996 - Synthese 106 (2):205-226.
A Wittgensteinian Solution to the Sorites.Hanoch Ben-Yami - 2010 - Philosophical Investigations 33 (3):229-244.
Deconstructing a Topological Sorites.D. Rizza - 2013 - Philosophia Mathematica 21 (3):361-364.
Response to Goldstein.B. Garrett - 2012 - Analysis 72 (4):742-744.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2020-07-25

Total views
290 ( #32,040 of 63,273 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
88 ( #6,715 of 63,273 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes