Mindfulness:DOI: 10.1007/s12671-014-0290-6. (2014)

Edo Shonin
Nottingham Trent University
The principal Buddhist suttas on mindfulness include the ānāpānasati sutta, satipatthāna sutta, mahasatipatthāna sutta, and kāyagatāsati sutta. Irrespective of whether they prefer to practise mindfulness from a Buddhist or secular perspective, most dedicated mindfulness practitioners are familiar with many of the core teachings outlined in these suttas(e.g., use of the breath as a mindfulness anchor, mindfulness of the body and its constituents, maintaining mindful awareness during daily activities, etc.). However, one key aspect of the abovementioned suttas that often seems to be overlooked by mindfulness practitioners is the emphasis these teachings place on cultivating mindfulness of death and impermanence.Indeed, the satipatthāna sutta, mahasatiptthāna sutta, and kāyagatāsati sutta each contains the‘nine charnel ground contemplations’, and the 13th exercise of the ānāpānasati sutta is specifically concerned with cultivating an awareness of impermanence.
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy

 PhilArchive page | Other versions
External links

Setup an account with your affiliations in order to access resources via your University's proxy server
Configure custom proxy (use this if your affiliation does not provide a proxy)
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

Meditation and Mindfulness.Martine Batchelor - 2011 - Contemporary Buddhism 12 (1):157--164.
On Some Definitions of Mindfulness.Rupert Gethin - 2011 - Contemporary Buddhism 12 (1):263--279.
Toward an Understanding of Non-Dual Mindfulness.John Dunne - 2011 - Contemporary Buddhism 12 (1):71--88.
Mindfulness and the Social Media.Edo Shonin, William Van Gordon & Mark D. Griffiths - 2014 - Journal of Mass Communication and Journalism:DOI: 10.4172/2165-7912.1000194..


Added to PP index

Total views
2,310 ( #1,323 of 2,438,737 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
48 ( #14,894 of 2,438,737 )

How can I increase my downloads?


My notes