Behavioral and Brain Sciences 25 (2):209-210 (2002)

Authors
Peter Slezak
University of New South Wales
Abstract
The imagery debate re-enacts controversies persisting since Descartes. The controversy remains important less for what we can learn about visual imagery than about cognitive science itself. In the tradition of Arnauld, Reid, Bartlett, Austin and Ryle, Pylyshyn’s critique exposes notorious mistakes being unwittingly rehearsed not only regarding imagery but also in several independent domains of research in modern cognitive science.
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
DOI 10.1017/S0140525X02490048
Options
Edit this record
Mark as duplicate
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Request removal from index
Revision history

Download options

PhilArchive copy


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 59,864
Through your library

References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

Add more citations

Similar books and articles

The Imagery Debate: Analog Media Vs. Tacit Knowledge.Zenon W. Pylyshyn - 1981 - Psychological Review 88 (December):16-45.
Mental Imagery Doesn't Work Like That.Stephen M. Kosslyn, William L. Thompson & Giorgio Ganis - 2002 - Behavioral and Brain Sciences 25 (2):198-200.
The Imagery Debate. [REVIEW]Nigel J. T. Thomas - 1994 - Journal of Mind and Behavior 15 (3):291-294.
Interpreting the Neuroscience of Imagery.Ian Gold - 2002 - Behavioral and Brain Sciences 25 (2):190-191.
Look Again: Phenomenology and Mental Imagery. [REVIEW]Evan Thompson - 2007 - Phenomenology and the Cognitive Sciences 6 (1-2):137-170.

Analytics

Added to PP index
2009-01-28

Total views
103 ( #100,557 of 2,433,063 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
2 ( #294,010 of 2,433,063 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Downloads

My notes