Dao, technology, and american naturalism

Philosophy East and West 51 (3):363-377 (2001)
Abstract
Technology can be based on aesthetic sensibility rather than becoming just one more aggressive assault on nature. Resources for such an alteration of cultural consciousness can be found within the Daoist understanding of nature as unceasing birth, death, and rebirth. The articulation of such a perspective can use the tools developed within the tradition of American Naturalism. Dewey and Peirce, in particular, offer ways of establishing a community of inquiry based on such a sensibility
Keywords No keywords specified (fix it)
Categories (categorize this paper)
DOI 10.1353/pew.2001.0040
Options
 Save to my reading list
Follow the author(s)
Edit this record
My bibliography
Export citation
Find it on Scholar
Mark as duplicate
Request removal from index
Revision history
Download options
Our Archive


Upload a copy of this paper     Check publisher's policy     Papers currently archived: 30,224
Through your library
References found in this work BETA

No references found.

Add more references

Citations of this work BETA

No citations found.

Add more citations

Similar books and articles
American Naturalism on Pantheism 1.Martin O. Yalcin - 2011 - American Journal of Theology and Philosophy 32 (2):156 - 179.
Normativity in Quine's Naturalism: The Technology of Truth-Seeking? [REVIEW]Wybo Houkes - 2002 - Journal for General Philosophy of Science / Zeitschrift für Allgemeine Wissenschaftstheorie 33 (2):251-267.
The Puritan Backgrounds of American Naturalism.Robert J. Roth - 1970 - Thought: A Journal of Philosophy 45 (4):503-520.
Evolution, Religion, and an Ecstatic Naturalism.Robert S. Corrington - 2010 - American Journal of Theology and Philosophy 31 (2):124-135.
The Being of Nature: Dewey, Buchler, and the Prospect for an Eco-Ontology.Thomas Alexander - 2010 - Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society 46 (4):544-569.
Added to PP index
2009-01-28

Total downloads
252 ( #14,264 of 2,192,041 )

Recent downloads (6 months)
1 ( #289,802 of 2,192,041 )

How can I increase my downloads?

Monthly downloads
My notes
Sign in to use this feature